Guild Awards

It is the gift of the Guild that awards can be made to members based on service or longevity of membership:

Vice President

Honorary Life Member

Ringer of the Year/Most Improved Ringer

Vice President

Ringing Members who, over many years, have given conspicuous service to the Guild may be proposed as Vice Presidents by the Guild Executive. Subject to a proposal from the Executive and ratification of such proposal at the AGM, the office of Vice President is granted for the life of the Vice President.

2016Ross G W Robertson

Honorary Life Member

Ringing Members who have given valuable service to Branch or Guild usually over a period of at least 20 years, may be proposed for HLM in writing to the Branch Committee who will then if approved be proposed for HLM at a Branch business meeting. Proposals for HLM must be made, in writing, to the Executive meeting prior to the AGM.

Ringing Members with 50 years’ membership of the Guild (whether continuous or not) are offered HLM automatically on completion of the 50th year of membership.

Proposals for HLM accepted by the Executive shall be ratified at the AGM.

Elected 2017Bob Plaskett, Basil Dent, Christopher Barnes
Elected 2016Gordon Lawrence, Peter Baker, Tim Collins, Robin Mears, Malcolm Penny, David Todd, John Bull, Eddie Fry

Ringer of the Year (Adult and Junior)

Nominations are sought early in each New Year and the Guild Education Committee decide both recipients. Both awards are presented at the Guild Festival in May.

This award was introduced in 2008 as the Most Improved Ringer Award however this was changed in 2016 to the Ringer of the Year Award.

From 2011 we have made two annual awards, one to junior members and one to adult members. Any Guild member is eligible for nomination. For the adult award (over 18 years of age) each Branch is asked to make one nomination only. The award is in the form of a model bell generously donated to the Guild by former President Rosemary Julius.

Suggested criteria for nominations are:

A ringer who has recruited or taught a significant number of new ringers for their tower in the year even though he/she might only able to ring rounds and call changes.

  • A ringer who has successfully overcome a disability against all odds.
  • A ringer who whilst not being able to ring methods has enabled others to make progress in method ringing by organising practices with assistance from experienced helpers.
  • A ringer who helps out at a number of struggling towers enabling progress to be made by the band in striking, call changes or method ringing.
  • A conductor who has called a significant number of quarters in a year for those wishing to ring their first quarter.
  • A ringer who has made significant improvement in the year.

This is not a definitive list and all nominations will be considered.

For the young ringer award (18 years of age and under at 31st December) each branch can make as many nominations as it considers appropriate. Originally the award to young ringers was a six month introductory subscription to The Ringing World however in recent years it has been ringing related books.

Nominations will be sought early in each New Year and the Guild Education Committee will decide both recipients. Both awards will be presented at the Guild Festival in May.

Ringer of the year award nomination form please to the Guild Education Officer.

Previous winners of the awards are:



2016Chris Jenkins All Saints, Westbury

Christopher Jenkins
Christopher Jenkins receives his Award of Ringer of the Year 2016 from the Guild President.

Other nominations: Caroline Taylor, Paul Sims, Sue Barrance

Jack Pease All Saints, Hampreston

Other nominations: Eli Mondal, Ian Daykin

2015Bridget Luke St. Andrew’s, Heddington

Bridget Luke. Most Improved Adult Ringer 2015.
Bridget Luke. Most Improved Adult Ringer 2015. Presentation by Chris Mew, President of the Central Council.

Other nominations: Diana Dunn, Andy Waring, Marisa Bartlett, Sarah Chard, Louise Gay, June Buffrey

Lewis Hurry St. Mary of the Annunciation, Beaminster

Other nominations: Hannah Simpson, David Snelling, Tom Powell

2014Laura Amor
St. Michael & All Angels, Melksham
Paul Brown
St. John the Baptist, DevizesKatie Child
St. Cuthberga, Wimborne Minster
(Joint winners)
2013Mark D Symonds
St Candida & Holy Cross, Whitchurch Canonicorum
Lucy Taylor
Holy Trinity, Bradpole
2012Ian Daiziel
St. Michael & All Angels, Shalbourne
Timothy Finn
St. George, Preshute
2011Harry Murley
St Mary of the Annunciation, Beaminster
Jack Pease
All Saints, Hampreston
2010Julian Hemper
St. John the Baptist, Devizes
2009Katherine Clark
St. Mary the Virgin, Swanage
2008Gemma Holt
St. Mary, Collingbourne Kingston

Contact the Guild Education Officer: